Surrey-Whalley election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Surrey-Whalley election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:25 p.m.:

Bruce Ralston of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Surrey-Whalley, keeping the seat for the party. Ralston won 7,430 out of 10,800 counted votes (68.80 per cent) with 85 of 86 polls reporting.

Shaukat Khan of the BC Liberal Party won 3,019 votes (27.95 per cent). Jag Bhandari of the BC Vision party won 190 votes (1.76 per cent). Ryan Abbott of the Communist Party of BC won 161 votes (1.49 per cent).

As of 11:25 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 5,158 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 33,504 registered voters in Surrey-Whalley.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:25 p.m.:

1. Bruce Ralston (incumbent) - NDP
Votes: 7,430 votes (68.80 per cent)

2. Shaukat Khan - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 3,019 votes (27.95 per cent)

3. Jag Bhandari - BC Vision party
Votes: 190 votes (1.76 per cent)

4. Ryan Abbott - Communist Party of BC
Votes: 161 votes (1.49 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press