1 / 9

United States:

The country that started the nuclear race, the United States has 6,185 weapons, as per the Arms Control Association. It became the first and only country to deploy nuclear weapons against an enemy state when when it dropped bombs in Heroshima and Nagasaki in August 1945, causing around 1,40,000 deaths by the end of the year, and leading to widespread destruction and devastation. The United States is also the only country which has stored its nuclear weapons in other nations – as per Nuclear Weapons Ban Monitor, the US has around 180 weapons stored in its air bases in Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany, Italy and Turkey. The country has refused to adopt a no-first use policy as it "reserves the right to use" nuclear weapons first in the case of conflict. Image credit: From left are the Peacekeeper, the Minuteman III and the Minuteman I

These are the nine nuclear armed countries in the world

As per a hypothetical study by the University of Colorado Boulder and Rutgers University, if India and Pakistan were to engage in a nuclear war, 50-125 million people could die within a week, with far-reaching devastating consequences across the world such as climate catastrophe and starvation.

Further, a report by Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) has said that the total number of weapons possessed by the United States, Russia, Britain, France, China, India, Pakistan, Israel, and North Korea is 13,865. While this means a decrease of 600 nuclear weapons from 2018, the study also states that nuclear-possessing countries have been rapidly modernising their arsenal. Currently, Russia and the United States have 90 per cent of the world’s nuclear arsenal, however, countries such as India and China could possess a combined count of 400-500 nuclear arsenal by 2025.

While five states China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, and the United State are officially recognised as possessing nuclear weapons by the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, NPT, four (India, Pakistan, Israel and North Korea) are non-NPT nuclear weapons possessors, and hence, are not legally recognised. We take a look at the nine nuclear-armed states and the kind of arsenal they possess: