Three candidates seeking to be chief of Tk'emlúps

·1 min read

Three people are vying to be the next chief of Tk’ emlúps te Secwépmc as the field of candidates in the upcoming band election has been officially set.

Incumbent Kúkpi7 (Chief) Rosanne Casimir is seeking a second term, following two terms as councillor, and will be challenged by Chad Gottfriedson and Jeanette Jules.

There are 12 people seeking the seven councillor seats in the 2021 general band election, including incumbents Marie Baptiste, Thomas Blank, Sonny Leonard and Justin Gottfriedson. Fellow councillor Katy Gottfriedson, who had been nominated to run for chief, is not seeking a seat on council.

The current band council has been one short for some time after Colleen Mosterd-McLean resigned in 2020 and a byelection to fill her seat was postponed due to the pandemic.

Rounding out the council candidates are Evelyn Camille, Nickole Fraser, Joshua Gottfriedson, Freda Jules, David Manuel, Nicole Peters, Denny Thomas and Viola Thomas.

The upcoming Tk’emlups election is the first in which members who do not live on reserve are eligible to run.

An all-candidates forum will be held on Oct. 30 — the details of when and where are still to be announced, according to the band’s website.

An advance poll will be held on Nov. 6 and election night is Nov. 13.


Michael Potestio, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, Kamloops This Week

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting