Three new Indigenous MPs secure ridings for NDP and Conservative parties

·1 min read

There are likely to be three new Indigenous members of Parliament in the House of Commons following a federal election with a record number of First Nations, Métis and Inuit candidates.

Blake Desjarlais, who is Métis, holds the lead in Edmonton Griesbach, which has been held by Conservative MP Kerry Diotte since the riding was created in 2015.

Mail-in ballots are still being tallied.

Lori Idlout has kept Nunavut orange and will replace NDP MP Mumilaaq Qaqqaq, who decided not to run again.

Adam Chambers, who is Métis, will hold the seat of Simcoe-North for the Conservatives.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Sept. 21, 2021.

The Canadian Press

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting