Vancouver-Langara election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

Vancouver-Langara election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:27 p.m.:

Michael Lee of the BC Liberal Party has been re-elected as MLA in Vancouver-Langara, keeping the seat for the party. Lee won 5,356 out of 11,315 counted votes (47.34 per cent) with 81 of 83 polls reporting.

Tesicca Truong of the NDP won 4,709 votes (41.62 per cent). Stephanie Hendy of the Green party won 1,083 votes (9.57 per cent). Paul Matthews of the Libertarian party won 167 votes (1.48 per cent).

As of 11:27 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 9,725 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 36,811 registered voters in Vancouver-Langara.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:27 p.m.:

1. Michael Lee (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 5,356 votes (47.34 per cent)

2. Tesicca Truong - NDP
Votes: 4,709 votes (41.62 per cent)

3. Stephanie Hendy - Green party
Votes: 1,083 votes (9.57 per cent)

4. Paul Matthews - Libertarian party
Votes: 167 votes (1.48 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press