Vancouver-West End election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

Vancouver-West End election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:28 p.m.:

Spencer Chandra Herbert of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Vancouver-West End, keeping the seat for the party. Chandra Herbert won 6,477 out of 10,913 counted votes (59.35 per cent) with 85 of 87 polls reporting.

Jon Ellacott of the BC Liberal Party won 2,338 votes (21.42 per cent). James Marshall of the Green party won 1,897 votes (17.38 per cent). Kim McCann of the Libertarian party won 201 votes (1.84 per cent).

As of 11:28 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 9,631 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 38,143 registered voters in Vancouver-West End.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:28 p.m.:

1. Spencer Chandra Herbert (incumbent) - NDP
Votes: 6,477 votes (59.35 per cent)

2. Jon Ellacott - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 2,338 votes (21.42 per cent)

3. James Marshall - Green party
Votes: 1,897 votes (17.38 per cent)

4. Kim McCann - Libertarian party
Votes: 201 votes (1.84 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press