Victoria-Swan Lake election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Victoria-Swan Lake election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:29 p.m.:

Rob Fleming of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Victoria-Swan Lake, keeping the seat for the party. Fleming won 6,277 out of 11,092 counted votes (56.59 per cent) with 94 of 113 polls reporting.

Annemieke Holthuis of the Green party won 3,284 votes (29.61 per cent). David Somerville of the BC Liberal Party won 1,324 votes (11.94 per cent). Jenn Smith, an Independent, won 153 votes (1.38 per cent). Walt Parsons of the Communist Party of BC won 54 votes (0.49 per cent).

As of 11:29 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 12,978 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 37,949 registered voters in Victoria-Swan Lake.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:29 p.m.:

1. Rob Fleming (incumbent) - NDP
Votes: 6,277 votes (56.59 per cent)

2. Annemieke Holthuis - Green party
Votes: 3,284 votes (29.61 per cent)

3. David Somerville - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 1,324 votes (11.94 per cent)

4. Jenn Smith - Independent
Votes: 153 votes (1.38 per cent)

5. Walt Parsons - Communist Party of BC
Votes: 54 votes (0.49 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press