Sergio Cossio made a statement in the Lux Fight League 22 main event Thursday in Mexico.
That statement might be the subject of a little controversy and debate, though – but not necessarily through any fault on Cossio’s part.
In the headliner at LUX 22 in Mexico City, Cossio looked like he was wrapping up some ground-and-pound on Edgar Delgado and was going to let him up just before the bell at the end of the round.
Cossio was back to his feet and started to walk away. The referee never inserted herself between the two fighters, though, to give Delgado a chance to get reset. She looked like she might be ready to jump in to let Delgado fully restart, but never did – and Cossio took advantage.
That little hesitation on the ref’s part allowed Cossio to quickly turn around from a walk-away that never really happened. He winged a left hand that just missed while Delgado was pushing back upward, but a right hand connected flush and Delgado hit the canvas just as the horn sounded – with the referee waving her arms for the one-punch KO to end the fight.
Check out the finish below (via Twitter):
— caposa (@Grabaka_Hitman) May 27, 2022
So what say you? Was Cossio’s move just a slick one and kept him in the right place at the right time? Or did he take advantage of the hesitation by the ref in a situation that most times sees the official in between the two fighters until the downed fighter is back on the feet?
Regardless, it was a knockout win for Cossio, and a stunner for the all-time highlight reel, at that.