Vince Young, Carson Palmer highlight new names on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

The National Football Foundation announced the players and coaches on the 2019 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday. The list is highlighted by ballot newcomers like Texas quarterback Vince Young, USC quarterback Carson Palmer, Syracuse wideout Marvin Harrison, Wisconsin tackle Joe Thomas, and Arkansas running back Darren McFadden.

Eric Crouch, Eric Dickerson, Tony Gonzalez, Ray Lewis and Troy Polamalu are also among the 76 FBS players up for the Hall of Fame.

In order to be eligible for the Hall of Fame, a player had to earn first-team All-American honors at some point during his career.

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 5.26 million people have played college football and only 997 players have been inducted,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “The Hall’s requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and those actually elected to the Class will be part of a momentous year as we celebrate the 150th anniversary of college football in 2019.”

Additionally, six coaches — Larry Blakeney (Troy), Jim Carlen (West Virginia, Texas Tech, South Carolina). Pete Cawthon Sr. (Austin College, Texas Tech), Dennis Erickson (Idaho, Wyoming, Washington State, Miami, Oregon State, Arizona State), Billy Jack Murphy (Memphis) and Darryl Rogers (Cal State East Bay, Fresno State, San Jose State, Michigan State, Arizona State) — were also nominated.

Here is the full list of FBS players (many remain from last year):

  • Flozell Adams, Michigan State – Offensive Tackle
  • Bernard Berrian, Fresno State – Kick Returner/Wide Receiver
  • Michael Bishop, Kansas State – Quarterback
  • Lomas Brown, Florida – Offensive Tackle
  • Terrell Buckley, Florida State – Defensive Back
  • Brandon Burlsworth, Arkansas – Offensive Guard
  • Larry Burton, Purdue – Split End
  • Keith Byars, Ohio State – Running Back
  • Matt Cavanaugh, Pittsburgh – Quarterback
  • Dallas Clark, Iowa – Tight End
  • Marco Coleman, Georgia Tech Linebacker
  • Tim Couch, Kentucky – Quarterback
  • Eric Crouch, Nebraska – Quarterback
  • Eric Dickerson, Southern Methodist – Running Back
  • Rickey Dixon, Oklahoma – Defensive Back
  • Vaughn Dunbar, Running Back – Indiana
  • Jumbo Elliott, Michigan – Offensive Tackle
  • Bobby Engram, Wide Receiver – Penn State
  • Kevin Faulk, Louisiana State – Running Back
  • David Fulcher, Arizona State – Defensive Back
  • Robert Gallery, Iowa – Offensive Tackle
  • Moe Gardner, Illinois – Defensive Tackle
  • Tony Gonzalez, California – Tight End
  • Jacob Green, Texas A&M – Defensive Lineman
  • Dan Hampton, Arkansas – Defensive Tackle
  • Jason Hanson, Washington State – Placekicker
  • Byron Hanspard, Texas Tech – Running Back
  • Kevin Hardy, Illinois – Linebacker
  • Marcus Harris, Wyoming – Wide Receiver
  • Marvin Harrison, Syracuse Kick Returner/Wide Receiver
  • Jeff Hartings, Penn State Offensive Lineman
  • E.J. Henderson, Maryland Linebacker
  • Craig Heyward, Pittsburgh – Running Back
  • Torry Holt, North Carolina State Wide Receiver
  • Ken Huff, North Carolina – Offensive Guard
  • Steve Hutchinson, Michigan – Offensive Lineman
  • Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame – Wide Receiver
  • Larry Jacobson, Nebraska – Defensive Tackle
  • E.J. Junior, Alabama – Defensive End
  • Jess Lewis, Oregon State – Defensive Tackle
  • Ray Lewis, Miami (Fla.) – Linebacker
  • Bobby Majors, Tennessee – Defensive Back
  • Tony Mandarich, Michigan State – Offensive Tackle
  • Ed McCaffrey, Stanford – Wide Receiver
  • Darren McFadden, Arkansas – Running Back
  • Cade McNown, UCLA – Quarterback
  • Corey Moore, Virginia Tech – Defensive Lineman
  • Dan Morgan, Miami (Fla.) – Linebacker
  • Ken Norton Jr., UCLA – Linebacker
  • Phil Olsen, Utah State – Defensive End
  • Leslie O’Neal, Oklahoma State – Defensive Tackle
  • Jim Otis, Ohio State – Fullback
  • Carson Palmer, Southern California – Quarterback
  • Jake Plummer, Arizona State – Quarterback
  • Troy Polamalu, Southern California – Defensive Back
  • David Pollack, Georgia – Defensive Lineman
  • Antwaan Randle El, Indiana – Quarterback
  • Simeon Rice, Illinois – Linebacker
  • Ron Rivera, California – Linebacker
  • Rashaan Salaam, Colorado – Tailback
  • Lucius Sanford, Georgia Tech – Linebacker
  • Larry Seivers, Tennessee – Wide Receiver
  • Kenneth Sims, Texas Defensive Tackle
  • Aaron Taylor, Notre Dame – Offensive Tackle
  • Joe Thomas, Wisconsin – Offensive Lineman
  • Dennis Thurman, Southern California – Defensive Back
  • Troy Vincent, Wisconsin – Defensive Back
  • Chris Ward, Ohio State – Offensive Tackle
  • Michael Westbrook, Colorado – Wide Receiver
  • Lorenzo White, Michigan State – Running Back
  • Zach Wiegert, Nebraska – Offensive Tackle
  • Patrick Willis, Mississippi – Linebacker
  • Al Wilson, Tennessee – Linebacker
  • Steve Wisniewski, Penn State – Offensive Guard
  • Elmo Wright, Houston – Wide Receiver
  • Vince Young, Texas – Quarterback

– – – – – – –

Sam Cooper is a writer for Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him or follow him on Twitter!

More from Yahoo Sports:

Cavs star abruptly ends interview: ‘That’s [expletive] up’
In classy move, Bears sign TE after catastrophic injury
Coach Kerr trolls LeBron at news conference
GM VP’s pace car humiliation in Detroit