West Vancouver-Capilano election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — West Vancouver-Capilano election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:29 p.m.:

Karin Kirkpatrick of the BC Liberal Party has been elected as the new MLA in West Vancouver-Capilano, keeping the seat for the party. Kirkpatrick won 7,700 out of 14,263 counted votes (53.99 per cent) with 87 of 89 polls reporting.

Amelia Hill of the NDP won 4,114 votes (28.84 per cent). Rasoul Narimani of the Green party won 2,309 votes (16.19 per cent). Anton Shendryk, an Independent, won 140 votes (0.98 per cent).

As of 11:29 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 10,182 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 37,519 registered voters in West Vancouver-Capilano.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:29 p.m.:

1. Karin Kirkpatrick - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 7,700 votes (53.99 per cent)

2. Amelia Hill - NDP
Votes: 4,114 votes (28.84 per cent)

3. Rasoul Narimani - Green party
Votes: 2,309 votes (16.19 per cent)

4. Anton Shendryk - Independent
Votes: 140 votes (0.98 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press