Winnipeg South has a history of siding with winners in federal elections

·1 min read

WINNIPEG — Winnipeg South

This large suburban area is a true bellwether riding. Since its reincarnation in 1988 (it had been dissolved into parts of two ridings in 1979), it has always elected a politician of the winning party. Liberal incumbent Terry Duguid took the seat in 2015 after Rod Bruinooge had held the riding under former prime minister Stephen Harper.

Population: 99,678 (Elections Canada)

Incumbent: Liberal Terry Duguid

Main challengers: Conservative Melanie Maher, who was chief of staff to Bruinooge; New Democrat Aiden Kahanovitch, vice-president at a commercial real estate company; Green Party candidate Greg Boettcher, software and technical architect; People’s Party of Canada candidate Byron Curtis Gryba, business owner.

Election history: This is Maher's second attempt against Duguid. She finished within 2,000 votes of him in 2019.

Fun fact: Winnipeg is sometimes called the River City, and this riding includes sections of three of the four rivers that run through the Manitoba capital — the Red, the Seine and the La Salle.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Sept. 19, 2021.

The Canadian Press

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting