2023 Emmy Predictions: Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series


We will update this article throughout the season, along with all our predictions, so make sure to keep checking IndieWire for the latest news from the 2023 Emmys race. The nomination round of voting takes place from June 15 to June 26, with the official Emmy nominations announced Wednesday, July 12. Afterward, final voting commences August 17 and ends the night of August 28. The 75th annual Primetime Emmy Awards will now take place Monday, January 15, live on Fox at 8:00 p.m. ET/ 5:00 p.m. PT.

See our previous thoughts on what to expect at the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards here.

More from IndieWire

The State of the Race

There is an argument to be made about how leaving it up in the air as to whether or not “Ted Lasso” continues has helped the show and star Jason Sudeikis’ chances of winning the Emmy, and hurt Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series nominees Bret Goldstein and Phil Dunster’s chances of winning their category. The way the Apple TV+ hit ended Season 3, it looks like only the titular character Ted may be leaving, while the rest of the cast stay on to become more central to whatever show title it becomes, and remain eligible for even more Emmys.

Though Emmy voters can be creatures of habit, it does seem like “Ted Lasso” did lose some momentum with them. Usually, the cast fills up this category, but this time only Goldstein (the reigning two-time winner) and Dunster (a first-time nominee) made it in. If they are not giving it much thought, voters could totally award the former a third time, but there are just too many other shows that have become super competitive in the Comedy categories.

For example, if winter TV awards hold any weight (it gets complicated because they nominate based off of a different eligibility window), “Abbott Elementary” star Tyler James Williams would be the frontrunner here. The veteran sitcom actor won the Golden Globe over “Barry” star Henry Winkler (a previous winner in this category) and several stars from drama series. That may all be old news though, as that happened in January, Season 2 of his ABC workplace comedy ended in April, and Williams has not been able to campaign since he was nominated due to SAG strike rules.

To that end, the rest of the nominees are in the same boat, but “Jury Duty” star James Marsden and “The Bear” star Ebon Moss-Bachrach particularly have a leg up because their shows are the freshest in voters’ brains, as they premiered right as nominations were being determined. Ultimately, the narrative Marsden has, taking the risk of playing himself on a new series, making plenty fun of his career and celebrity profile, and it leading to the first Emmy nomination he’s had through a long TV career, seems like it will drive him toward a win.

Power Rankings:

  1. James Marsden, “Jury Duty” (Amazon Freevee)

  2. Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)

  3. Tyler James Williams, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)

  4. Ebon Moss-Bachrach, “The Bear” (FX)

  5. Phil Dunster, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)

  6. Henry Winkler, “Barry” (HBO)

  7. Anthony Carrigan, “Barry” (HBO)

Will Win: James Marsden, “Jury Duty”
Could Win:
Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
Should Win:
Anthony Carrigan, “Barry”

More Comedy Category Predictions:
Outstanding Comedy Series
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series
Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

To see IndieWire’s full set of predictions for the 75th Emmy Awards click here.

Last Year’s Winner: Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
Still Eligible: Yes.
Hot Streak: A third consecutive Emmy win for Goldstein would put him in the Emmy history books next to “The Andy Griffith Show” star Don Knotts and “Entourage” Jeremy Piven, the only two actors to achieve that same feat playing one specific role. However, the “Ted Lasso” star will not have a chance to break “Night Court” star John Larroquette’s record of four consecutive wins, as the Apple TV+ comedy is reportedly set to end this year with Season 3.
Notable Ineligible Series: Carl Clemons-Hopkins and Paul W. Downs, “Hacks” (Season 3 was not eligible)

Best of IndieWire

Sign up for Indiewire's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.