My ballot: This is who one voter picked for MVP, Rookie of the Year and other NBA awards

Nikola Jokic is barreling toward his third MVP trophy while Victor Wembanyama glides into the Rookie of the Year award with a freakish blend of size, length, skill and fluidity this world has never seen before.

Some of the choices for the 2023-24 NBA awards were very easy. Others were extremely difficult.

My vote for Most Improved Player went to Tyrese Maxey of the Philadelphia 76ers. Maxey was announced as the winner Tuesday, but I found myself rooting for my second choice, Coby White of the Chicago Bulls, who finished second by a very narrow margin.

TNT will announce the rest of the award winners during its coverage of the NBA playoffs in the days and weeks to come. Still to be announced are the All-NBA, All-Rookie and All-Defensive teams as well as the Most Valuable Player, Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, Clutch Player of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Winners were chosen by a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters. Here’s how I voted.


1. Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets

2. Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Oklahoma City Thunder

3. Luka Doncic, Dallas Mavericks

4. Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks

5. Jayson Tatum, Boston Celtics

Defensive Player of the Year

1. Rudy Gobert, Minnesota Timberwolves

2. Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs

3. Bam Adebayo, Miami Heat

Rookie of the Year

1. Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs

2. Chet Holmgren, Oklahoma City Thunder

3. Brandon Miller, Charlotte Hornets

Sixth Man of the Year

1. Malik Monk, Sacramento Kings

2. Naz Reid, Minnesota Timberwolves

3. Bogdan Bogdanovic, Atlanta Hawks

Most Improved Player

1. Tyrese Maxey, Philadelphia 76ers

2. Coby White, Chicago Bulls

3. Deni Avdija, Washington Wizards

Clutch Player of the Year

1. DeMar DeRozan, Chicago Bulls

2. Steph Curry, Golden State Warriors

3. Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets

Coach of the Year

1. Mark Daigneault, Oklahoma City Thunder

2. Jamahl Mosley, Orlando Magic

3. Chris Finch, Minnesota Timberwolves


First Team

Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets; Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Oklahoma City Thunder; Luka Doncic, Dallas Mavericks; Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks; Jayson Tatum, Boston Celtics.

Second Team

Anthony Edwards, Minnesota Timberwolves; Jalen Brunson, New York Knicks; Kawhi Leonard, Los Angeles Clippers; Kevin Durant, Phoenix Suns; Anthony Davis, Los Angeles Lakers.

Third Team

Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors; Devin Booker, Phoenix Suns; LeBron James, Los Angeles Lakers; Domantas Sabonis, Sacramento Kings; Tyrese Haliburton, Indiana Pacers.

All-Defensive Team

First Team

Rudy Gobert, Minnesota Timberwolves; Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs; Bam Adebayo, Miami Heat; Herb Jones, New Orleans Pelicans; Alex Caruso, Chicago Bulls.

Second Team

Anthony Davis, Los Angeles Lakers; Jalen Suggs, Orlando Magic; Derrick White, Boston Celtics; Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Oklahoma City Thunder; Jaden McDaniels, Minnesota Timberwolves.

All-Rookie Team

First Team

Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs; Chet Holmgren, Oklahoma City Thunder; Brandon Miller, Charlotte Hornets; Jaime Jaquez Jr., Miami Heat; Dereck Lively II, Dallas Mavericks.

Second Team

Keyonte George, Utah Jazz; Brandon Podziemski, Golden State Warriors; Amen Thompson, Houston Rockets; GG Jackson, Memphis Grizzlies; Scoot Henderson, Portland Trail Blazers.