CFDA Fashion Awards to Take Place This October in Manhattan Venue

The Council of Fashion Designers of America will hold its 2024 CFDA Fashion Awards presented by Amazon Fashion on Oct. 28. The annual event will return to the American Museum of Natural History for the second year.

Amazon Fashion is returning as the presenting partner for the third consecutive year.

More from WWD

The awards are being held a week earlier than they were the last two years, and two weeks earlier than three years ago.

“The CFDA is thrilled to return to the American Museum of Natural History after the success of last year’s awards and looks forward to celebrating the best of American creativity and ingenuity this fall,” said Steven Kolb, chief executive officer of the CFDA. “We are grateful to Amazon Fashion for the continued support of our biggest fundraiser of the year benefiting the CFDA Foundation.”

“As part of Amazon Fashion’s ongoing mission to champion both established and emerging designers, we are excited to once again support the CFDA Fashion Awards and pay recognition to the inspiring talent defining American fashion today,” said Jenny Freshwater, vice president of Amazon Fashion and Fitness, who took over the role last November from Muge Erdirik Dogan, who left to become chief technology officer at Nike Inc.

Additional supports of the 2024 CFDA Fashion Awards include Shop with Google for the American Emerging Designer of the Year award and Hourglass as this year’s Beauty Sponsor.

The CFDA Awards have become a star-studded event recognizing designers and fashion innovators. Among those who crowded into the Hall of Ocean Life at the American Museum of Natural History last November for the 2023 CFDA Awards were Serena Williams, Mary J. Blige, Gwyneth Paltrow, Demi Moore, Martha Stewart, Jenna Lyons, Kim Kardashian, Jordan Roth, Coco Rocha, Ashley Graham, Chloë Sevigny, Jane Krakowski, Cynthia Erivo, Madelyn Cline, Molly Ringwald, and Anne Hathaway, who was the host of the evening and a last-minute replacement for Sarah Jessica Parker who had to step down due to unforeseen circumstances.

Last year’s big winners were Catherine Holstein, designer and founder of Khaite, for American Womenswear Designer of the Year, who won for the second year in a row, and Willy Chavarria, who won the American Menswear Designer of the Year. Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row, who were no-shows, were once again awarded the Accessories Designer of the Year, racking up their fourth win in the category.

In addition to the aforementioned awards, other awards to be given out that night are the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, Innovation Award, presented by Amazon Fashion, Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert, Environmental Sustainability Award, Shop with Google American Emerging Designer of the Year, Board of Directors’ Tribute, and International Designer of the Year Award.

Best of WWD