Here are some of the new faces who will represent Quebec ridings in the House of Commons

·2 min read
Quebec's former Labour Minister Dominique Vien is headed to Ottawa for the first time. (Jacques Boissinot/The Canadian Press - image credit)
Quebec's former Labour Minister Dominique Vien is headed to Ottawa for the first time. (Jacques Boissinot/The Canadian Press - image credit)

Most of Quebec's 78 seats in the House of Commons will be held by incumbents after Monday's election, with the exception of a few new faces.

Some races will remain too close to call until well into Tuesday as mail-in ballots are counted while others were a shoe-in for incumbents and party strongholds across the province.

With the margins between candidates sometimes hovering in the dozens, it was clear by midnight that a full vote count would be needed to determine the winner.

However, some got to celebrate their first federal election victory early.

Among them will be Dominique Vien, who won Bellechasse-Les Etchemins-Lévis for the Conservatives. Before her, Conservative Steven Blaney held the riding since 2006.

It may be her first time in the House of Commons, but it won't be Vien's first time in office as she was a member of Quebec's National Assembly.

She represented the provincial riding of Bellechasse between 2003 and 2007 as a member of Quebec's Liberals. She was re-elected in 2008 and held the seat for another 10 years.


She served as the province's labour minister for her last two years in the National Assembly.

"Even after a seventh election, a first at the federal level, it is with equal excitement that I welcome the results," Vien wrote on Facebook late Monday. "I am honoured by your confidence."

Pontiac will now be represented by Liberal Sophie Chatel, who was preceded by Liberal William Amos. Amos held the riding since 2015. Last election, he won nearly 49 per cent of the vote.

Chatel, who lives in the riding located in western Quebec, has worked at the Ministry of Finance and the Canada Revenue Agency.

Bloc Québécois website
Bloc Québécois website

A newcomer for the Bloc Québécois was able to grab a seat on Montreal's South Shore, as Patrick O'Hara defeated incumbent Liberal candidate Brenda Shanahan in the riding of Châteauguay-Lacolle.

Other ridings that may soon have a new face include Trois-Rivières and Brome-Missisquoi where there is no incumbent.

After the NDP took Trois-Rivières in 2011 and 2015, it went back to the Bloc — a party which had long held the riding.

By early Tuesday morning, it remained a two-way race.

Yves Lévesque, a former mayor of Trois-Rivières, is hoping to clinch it for the Conservatives, but as of Tuesday morning, he trailed the Bloc's René Villemure by a few dozen votes. None of them have served at the federal level before.

Brome-Missisquoi has flopped between Liberal, NDP and the Bloc over the years. This time around, it is the Bloc and Liberals going neck-and-neck.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting