New police board seeks member candidates

Those thinking of serving on a new police service board for rural Thunder Bay communities that are policed by Thunder Bay's Ontario Provincial Police detachment can apply until June 14.
The Lakehead OPP Detachment Board is to consist of 13 members from the following communities: Conmee, Gillies, Kiashke Zaaging Anishinaabek First Nation (Gull Bay), Lac Des Mille Lacs First Nation, Neebing, O'Connor and Shuniah.
"The board is to be made up of one elected official from each of the seven communities, as well as three provincial reps and three community reps," a backgrounder said.
More information on how to apply can be obtained by contacting the Municipality of Neebing at 807-474-5331. The municipality can also be reached by email at

Carl Clutchey, Local Journalism Initiative reporter, The Chronicle-Journal