SZA to Be Honored by Songwriters Hall of Fame With Hal David Starlight Award (EXCLUSIVE)

SZA will be honored by the Songwriters Hall of Fame with the Hal David Starlight Award, which recognizes young songwriters. SZA — who won three Grammy Awards for her sophomore album “SOS” and was Variety’s 2023 Hitmaker of the Year — joins previous recipients Taylor Swift, Post Malone, Lil Nas X, Halsey, Sara Bareilles, Ed Sheeran, Nick Jonas, Nate Ruess, Imagine Dragons’ Dan Reynolds, John Legend, Alicia Keys, Ne-Yo, Drake, Benny Blanco, Jason Mraz, John Mayer, Rob Thomas, and John Rzeznik.

The Hal David Starlight Award, created in 2004, was named in honor of SHOF Chairman Emeritus Hal David, for his longtime support of young songwriters. Award recipients are “gifted young songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry with their original songs,” according to the announcement.

More from Variety

She will receive the award at the 53rd Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards dinner, slated for Thursday, June 13 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Previously announced 2024 inductees include Hillary Lindsey; Timothy Mosley — aka Timbaland; Dean Pitchford; R.E.M. (Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, Michael Stipe) and Steely Dan (Donald Fagen and the late Walter Becker). Veteran hitmaker Diane Warren will receive the prestigious Johnny Mercer Award.

SHOF Chairman Nile Rodgers said, “This is such an exciting time for songwriters and music. Phenomenal artists like Beyonce and Taylor Swift are pushing the envelope of what success looks like but who could argue that the last 2 years belong to SZA. Incredible songwriting, incredible performances, incredible artistry.  She so deserves to be the 2024 recipient of the Hal David Starlight Award!”

“SOS” yielded four No. 1 hits on Billboard’s Rhythm and Urban Mainstream radio charts: “Snooze,” “Kill Bill,” “Shirt,” and “I Hate U.” SZA was the most-nominated artist at the 2024 Grammy Awards with nine.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.