NDP launch the ‘Senate Hall of Shame’

You can't really blame them but the New Democrats are clearly milking all these Senate shenanigans.

It's at the top of their agenda everyday in Question Period and, on Wednesday, leader Thomas Mulcair called on the RCMP to look into the spending controversies.

Well now, her majesty's loyal opposition have launched a new website called the 'Senate Hall of Shame. As you might imagine, it features the five senators that have been in the news of late: Patrick Brazeau, Mike Duffy, Mac Harb, Pamela Wallin and Irving Gerstein.

[ Related: Senator Pamela Wallin audited for over $350,000 in travel expenses ]

The NDP want your help to choose which one of those five should be added to the Hall:

Influence peddlers. Partisans. Laggards. The convicted and nearly-convicted. Over the years, the Senate has seen them all – while the Prime Ministers who appointed them did their best to look the other way.

The hundreds of failed candidates, bagmen and party hacks that have filled the Canadian Senate are of such questionable character and have made such dubious contributions to public service, many now find themselves in the Senate Hall of Shame.

Who will be the next to join them? You decide. Vote now.

Already included in the NDP's house of dishonour is former Liberal Senator Philippe Gigantès.

"An aspiring author, [Gigantès] read the entirety of his book into the record of the Senate so he could get a complete French translation, which he would later have published," notes the website.

Andrew Thompson, the Liberal senator who gained infamy in the 1990s for coming to work only 12 times in a seven year period, is also profiled.

[ More Political Points: Marc Garneau takes the gloves off in Liberal leadership race, goes after front-runner Trudeau ]

Of course there are no NDP senators on the list — that's because the NDP don't have any senators.

You can vote for Brazeau, Duffy, Harb, Wallin or Gerstein here.

And, oh yeah, the NDP wants your email address.

(Photo: Screenshot from

Are you a politics junkie?
Follow @politicalpoints on Twitter!