Who will make the boys and girls Sweet 16s? Here’s who the media picks.

Warren Central defeated George Rogers Clark to win the boys state tournament in 2023. The Dragons open defense of their championship Tuesday night in the 14th District Tournament at South Warren against the host school.

The boys and girls high school basketball postseason gets underway on Sunday. Who will survive to represent their region and their school at the 2024 Sweet 16s?

The journalists who have been voting in this year’s Kentucky High School Basketball Media Polls have made their picks.

Organized by the Courier Journal’s Jason Frakes, these journalists predict every boys and girls region champion even though those tournaments are more than a week away.

The Mingua Beef Jerky Girls’ Sweet 16 is set for March 13-16. The UK Healthcare Boys’ Sweet 16 will be held March 20-23.

Here are the media voters: Chelsea Ladd, The Paducah Sun; Edward Marlowe, WKDZ-FM; Mark Mathis, Owensboro Messenger-Inquirer; Micheal Compton, Bowling Green Daily News; Josh Claywell, Bardstown Kentucky Standard/LaRue County Herald News; Dominique Yates, WLKY-TV; Jason Frakes, The Courier Journal; James Weber, Cincinnati Enquirer; Brendan Connelly, Cincinnati Enquirer; Evan Dennison,; Jared Peck, Lexington Herald-Leader; Mike Marsee, Danville freelancer; Les Dixon,; Brendon Miller, Bluegrass Sports Nation; Randy White, Appalachian News-Express; James Collier, WLGC-FM.

Teams are ranked by the number of votes they received to win their respective regions. For teams who didn’t receive the majority of votes, the voters’ names are listed. This list was first published by the Courier Journal.

Girls’ Sweet 16 picks

1ST REGION: 16 - McCracken County (unanimous).

2ND REGION: 15 - Henderson County; 1 - Christian County (Marlowe).

3RD REGION: 16 - Owensboro Catholic (unanimous).

4TH REGION: 16 - Franklin-Simpson (unanimous).

5TH REGION: 15 - Bethlehem; 1 - Taylor County (Ladd).

6TH REGION: 15 - Butler; 1 - Bullitt Central (Miller).

7TH REGION: 16 - Sacred Heart (unanimous).

8TH REGION: 11 - Anderson County; 5 - Simon Kenton (Claywell, Frakes, Weber, Marsee, White).

9TH REGION: 14 - Cooper; 2 - Covington Holy Cross (Marlowe, White).

10TH REGION: 16 - George Rogers Clark (unanimous).

11TH REGION: 15 - Franklin County; 1 - Frederick Douglass (Marsee).

12TH REGION: 7 - Danville Christian (Ladd, Mathis, Yates, Weber, Dixon, Miller, White); 6 - Pulaski County (Claywell, Frakes, Connelly, Peck, Marsee, Collier); 2 - Southwestern (Marlowe, Dennison); 1 - West Jessamine (Compton).

13TH REGION: 12 - North Laurel; 4 - Corbin (Compton, Connelly, Marsee, Dixon).

14TH REGION: 8 - Owsley County; 6 - Letcher County Central (Marlowe, Yates, Frakes, Weber, Connelly, White); 1 - Knott County Central (Marsee); 1 - Perry County Central (Dixon).

15TH REGION: 16 - Pikeville (unanimous).

16TH REGION: 12 - Ashland Blazer; 4 - Russell (Marlowe, Weber, Dennison, Peck).

Boys’ Sweet 16 picks

1ST REGION: 8 - McCracken County; 4 - Calloway County (Marlowe, Frakes, Dennison, Peck); 4 - Murray (Weber, Connelly, Marsee, White).

2ND REGION: 16 - Lyon County (unanimous).

3RD REGION: 11 - Daviess County; 3 - Owensboro Catholic (Compton, Marsee, White); 2 - Butler County (Dixon, Miller).

4TH REGION: 13 - Bowling Green; 3 - Warren Central (Mathis, Compton, Peck).

5TH REGION: 11 - North Hardin; 4 - Adair County (Marlowe, Weber, Connelly, Dennison); 1 - Central Hardin (Mathis).

6TH REGION: 13 - Evangel Christian; 2 - DeSales (Claywell, Frakes); 1 - Fairdale (Marsee).

7TH REGION: 8 - Trinity; 6 - St. Xavier (Claywell, Weber, Connelly, Marsee, Miller, Collier); 2 - Manual (Marlowe, Mathis).

8TH REGION: 12 - North Oldham; 2 - Oldham County (Connelly, Dixon); 2 - Woodford County (Miller, Collier).

9TH REGION: 12 - Newport; 4 - Covington Catholic (Mathis, Compton, Yates, Dixon).

10TH REGION: 15 - George Rogers Clark; 1 - Campbell County (Marsee).

11TH REGION: 14 - Great Crossing; 2 - Lexington Catholic (Claywell, Weber).

12TH REGION: 15 - Danville Christian; 1 - Pulaski County (Compton).

13TH REGION: 16 - Harlan County (unanimous).

14TH REGION: 15 - Hazard; 1 - Breathitt County (Marsee).

15TH REGION: 14 - Pikeville; 1 - Martin County (Marsee); 1 - Lawrence County (Collier).

16TH REGION: 8 - Boyd County; 6 - Fleming County (Frakes, Weber, Connelly, Marsee, Dixon, Collier); 2 - Ashland Blazer (Claywell, White).

Kentucky boys high school basketball scores, brackets for every 2024 district tournament

Kentucky girls high school basketball scores, brackets for every 2024 district tournament

2024 Kentucky Miss Basketball finalists announced. See all 19 players.

Vote: Who’s your pick for Kentucky’s Miss Basketball?

2024 Kentucky Mr. Basketball finalists announced. See all 19 players.

Vote: Who’s your pick for Kentucky’s Mr. Basketball?