British Independent Film Awards: ‘All Of Us Strangers’ Sweeps With 7 Wins Including Best Film

Andrew Haigh’s latest feature, All Of Us Strangers, swept the board, snagging seven wins at the British Independent Film Awards (BIFA) in London this evening.

All of Us Strangers won four gongs this evening, adding to its three craft awards, announced in November. The pic’s haul included Best Director and Best Screenplay. Paul Mescal shared the Best Supporting Performance gong for his role in the film with Shaun Thomas from Molly Manning Walker’s buzzy debut How To Have Sex.

More from Deadline

Actress Mia McKenna-Bruce took the Best Lead Performance award for her role in How to Have Sex. The pic, which follows three teenage girls navigating a wild summer holiday in Malia, won three BIFAs in total, including the previously announced craft win for Best Casting.

Nathan Stewart-Jarrett and George MacKay won the Best Joint Lead Performance award for Femme, while Best Debut Director was handed to Savanah Leaf for Earth Mama, and Nida Manzoor took home Best Debut Screenwriter for Polite Society.

Elsewhere, Breakthrough Producer went to Theo Barrowclough for Scrapper, Rye Lane star Vivian Oparah scored the 2023 Breakthrough Performance award for her role in Raine Allen-Miller’s Peckham-set rom-com, which also won Best Original Music for Kwes.

The 2023 Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Actor to British Film was presented to Stephen Graham, and Justine Triet’s Palme d’Or winner Anatomy of a Fall won Best International Independent Film.

Scroll down for the full list of winners:

Best British Independent Film

All of Us Strangers

Best Director

Andrew Haigh (All of Us Strangers)

Best International Independent Film

Anatomy Of A Fall

Best British Short Film

Festival of Slaps

The Raindance Maverick Award

If the Streets Were on Fire

Best Debut Director – Feature Documentary

Chloe Abrahams (The Taste of Mango)

Breakthrough Producer

Theo Barrowclough (Scrapper)

Best Debut Screenwriter

Nida Manzoor (Polite Society)

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Savanah Leaf (Earth Mama)

Best Feature Documentary

If the Streets Were on Fire

Breakthrough Performance

Vivian Oparah (Rye Lane)

Best Supporting Performance

Paul Mescal (All of Us Strangers)

Shaun Thomas (How to Have Sex)

Best Screenplay

Andrew Haigh (All of Us Strangers)

Best Lead Performance

Mia McKenna-Bruce (How to Have Sex)

Best Joint Lead Performance

Nathan Stewart-Jarrett and George MacKay (Femme)

Special Jury Prize

We Are Parable

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.