Which states vote on Super Tuesday? What to know ahead of the presidential primaries

Super Tuesday earned its nickname because it’s the day many states hold their presidential primaries and caucuses. This year, 15 states and one U.S. territory will hold elections on March 5.

Donald Trump is the front-runner in the Republican race, polling in double digits over his rival, former South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley, according to multiple polls.

But even after losing her home state on Feb. 24, Haley has vowed to stay in the race, and Super Tuesday could be her last chance against the former president, who is vowing to return to the White House for a second term.

As the incumbent, President Joe Biden is expected to be the Democratic presidential nominee.

More: What is Super Tuesday? What to know about the pivotal 2024 presidential primary day

Which states are voting on March 5?

  • Alabama.

  • Alaska (GOP only).

  • Arkansas.

  • California.

  • Colorado.

  • Maine.

  • Massachusetts.

  • Minnesota.

  • North Carolina.

  • Oklahoma.

  • Tennessee.

  • Texas.

  • Utah.

  • Vermont.

  • Virginia.

American Samoa is also holding its primary that day.

More: 2024 Presidential Primary Election Schedule By Date

Although Iowa's Democratic contest is not on Super Tuesday, March 5 marks the last day Iowa voters can submit their mail-in ballot, and it is when results will be announced. The two-step process is new this year, after the Iowa Democratic caucus experienced multiple technical problems in 2020, forcing the party to find a new system that would also allow it to retain first-in-the-nation status.

Which Super Tuesday states hold open primaries?

Most primaries fall into one of five categories: closed, partially closed, open to unaffiliated voters, partially open and open, according to the National Conference on State Legislatures. The critical distinction among the categories is whether voters who are not registered party members can participate in the party’s primary.

Open primaries – which give all registered voters, regardless of party affiliation, the opportunity to vote in either Democratic or Republican primary races – are held in six states on Super Tuesday. They are Alabama, Arkansas, Minnesota, Texas, Vermont and Virginia.

Election Results: Track delegate counts here

However, these rules are eligible to change and have been adjusted over the past few years across multiple states, so it’s essential to confirm your state’s guidelines. Those living in Super Tuesday states can also look to USA TODAY’s voting guides for detailed information on voter eligibility and registration requirements and learn what to expect on your March 5 ballot.

Kathryn Palmer is the California 2024 Elections Fellow for USA TODAY. Reach her at kapalmer@gannett.com and follow her on X @KathrynPlmr.

This article originally appeared on Palm Springs Desert Sun: Which states vote on Super Tuesday for the presidential primaries?