High school softball coaches announce all-star rosters, region honors

The Kentucky Softball Coaches Association has named the rosters for the 2023 Kentucky Prep Softball East/West All-Star Series and announced this year’s region players and coaches of the year.

For the second year in a row, Lexington Catholic’s Abby Hammond has been named 11th Region player of the year by the KSCA. Great Crossing Coach Heath Sutton, who this season led the Warhawks to the school’s first 11th Region softball championship, was named coach of the year.

East Jessamine’s Kayleigh White, who helped the Jaguars reach the state semifinals this weekend, was named 12th Region player of the year.

The announcements coincided with the release of details of the KSCA’s annual all-star weekend on its website at kyhighschoolsoftball.com/allstar.htm.

The 2023 East/West All-Star Series will be held June 16-18 at the University of the Cumberlands in Williamsburg.

During the event, the KSCA will announce this year’s Miss Softball and all-state teams.

The series includes four games Saturday (9, 11 a.m., 1:30, 3:30 p.m.) and two games Sunday. About 12:30 p.m. between Saturday’s third and fourth games the KSCA will name its all-state players and Miss Softball. Later, the KSCA will recognize its hall of fame inductees at The Pennington in Corbin at 8 p.m. Saturday..

The Sunday games will feature the matchups of the East against the West seniors at noon and the East against the West juniors at 2:30 p.m.

Game passes are $15 for the entire weekend or $10 per day.

For more information on the all-star weekend, visit kyhighschoolsoftball.com/allstar.htm.

Region players of the year

1st Region: Ally Hutchins, McCracken Co.

2nd Region: Brenna Sherman, Madisonville

3rd Region: Jessie Daniels, Daviess Co.

4th Region: McLaine Hudson, South Warren

5th Region: Lynlee Britain, Central Hardin

6th Region: Kaden Dunlap, Mercy

7th Region: Brooke Gray, Ballard

8th Region: Emma Ginn, Trimble Co.

9th Region: Kennedy Baioni, Highlands,

10th Region: Isabella Persinger, Harrison Co.; Reaghan Oney, Montgomery Co.

11th Region: Abby Hammond, Lexington Catholic

12th Region: Kayleigh White, East Jessamine

13th Region: Emily Sizemore, North Laurel

14th Region: Sarah Smith, Wolfe Co.

15th Region: Mayson Delong, Johnson Central; Dani Crum, Lawrence Co.

16th Region: Haven Ford, Rowan Co.

Region coaches of the year

1st Region: Mikey Myers, Paducah Tilghman

2nd Region: Jason Scott, Webster Co.

3rd Region: John Biggs, Daviess Co.

4th Region: Rodney Bush, Greenwood

5th Region: Jamie Goodman, Central Hardin

6th Region: James Brentlinger, Mercy

7th Region: Alan Jones, Ballard

8th Region: Les Anderson, Woodford Co.

9th Region: Milt Horner, Highlands; Sarah Osborne, Dixie Heights

10th Region: Chad Persinger, Harrison Co.

11th Region: Heath Sutton, Great Crossing

12th Region: Kevin Dalton, Southwestern

13th Region: Carly Mink, South Laurel

14th Region: Michael Taulbee, Breathitt Co.; David Faulkner, Powell Co.

15th Region: Phillip Estep, Johnson Central

16th Region: Larry Slone, Rowan Co.

All-Star Series rosters

Players selected by KSCA coaches.


Dani Crum, Lawrence Co., C, CF; Randi Delong, Johnson Central, 1B, 3B; Cassidy Hack, Madison Central, OF; Kallie Housley, Corbin, P, SS; Taylor Ingram, Dixie Heights, 3B, OF; Skyler Lawrence, Greenup County, SS, Utility; Bailey Markus, Highlands, OF, SS; Reaghan Oney, Montgomery County, C, Utility; Catlin Pennington, Breathitt County, P, OF; Karsyn Preston, Scott County, 2B, OF; Rae-Leigh Purvis, Bath Co., OF; Ashlee Rogers, Bath Co., 1B, 3B; Kaytlyn Spickard, Franklin Co., 2B, SS; Baylee Spickard, Franklin Co., 3B, C; Rylee Warner, Franklin Co., C, SS; Addi Watson, Western Hills, P, SS; Kinley Willoughby, Lexington Catholic, SS, 2B.


Emily Cole, Lewis County, P, 1B; Hallie Conley, Montgomery Co., P, 1B, OF; Haven Ford, Rowan County, SS; Maddie Horn, East Jessamine, C, OF; Jasmine Kaylor, Madison Central, P, 1B, OF; Kaylie Lawrence, Greenup County, P, IF; Lauren McGaughey, Western Hills, OF; Maci Muncie, Estill County, 2B, SS; Kinsley Redmon, Western Hills, 3B, 2B; Alayna Reynolds, Corbin, OF; Emily Sizemore, North Laurel, SS, OF; Sarah Smith, Wolfe County, C, Utility; Lauren Tipton, Boyle Co., 3B, C; Maddie Vaughn, Johnson Central, P, 1B; Emily Zink, Montgomery Co., 1B, 3B.


Kaitlyn Cissell, Bethlehem, P, 3B, SS; Emilia Clemons, Manual, P, 1B; Kady Dennis, Ballard, C, 1B; Erin Hornback, LaRue County, OF; Ruthie Jones, Owensboro Catholic, OF, Utility; Allie Link, Central Hardin, SS, C; Maya Merrill, Mercy Academy, P; Maci Merritt, Owensboro Catholic, C, IF; Madison Newton, Male, 3B, OF; Madison Reed, Male, SS, 3B; Emil Schmidt, Elizabethtown, 2B, SS, OF; Jenna Smith, Central Hardin, P, 3B; Kylie Westerfield, Hancock Co, OF; Callie Wiles, Meade Co., P, 3B, OF.


Hannah Bynum, Manual, SS, 3B; Karlee Crick, Christian Co., C, 1B, 2B; Kaden Dunlap, Mercy, 2B, SS; Alyssa Gent, Central Hardin, 2B, 3B; Brooke Gray, Ballard, P, 1B, OF; Kaydence Hamilton, Daviess County, OF, C; Lydia Kirby, Greenwood, 3B, OF; Annabelle Knoop, Meade County, C, 1B, 3B; Shelby Lewis, Anderson County, P, 1B; Macy McCoy, Ballard, 1B, OF; Kylie McKinney, Elizabethtown, P, IF; Kayley Payne, Daviess County, OF; Raylee Roby, Daviess County, P, OF; Avery Skaggs, South Warren, OF; Ella Staples, Hancock County, C, 1B; Katie Walker, South Warren, 1B; Rylee Webb, Meade County, OF.