Follow the mayoral election results live

Some 11 mayors have been elected.

Ballots closed on Thursday night and results are now all in - here they are.

Some are newly created mayoralties voting for the first time.

  • Tees Valley, Conservative Ben Houchen re-elected

  • York and North Yorkshire, Labour's David Skaith

  • North East, Labour's Kim McGuinness

  • East Midlands, Labour's Claire Ward

  • Liverpool City Region, Labour's Steve Rotheram re-elected

  • South Yorkshire, Labour's Oliver Coppard re-elected

  • Greater Manchester, Labour's Andy Burnham re-elected

  • West Yorkshire, Labour's Tracey Brabin re-elected

  • London, Labour's Sadiq Khan re-elected

  • Salford, Labour's Paul Dennett re-elected

  • West Midlands, Labour's Richard Parker defeats Conservative incumbent Andy Street

This year's mayoral elections were conducted under the first past the post electoral system for the first time.

The map below shows which mayoral candidates have won in their area by political party.

See below for more detailed breakdowns of results for each race.

Electors are across the Greater London area.

The jurisdiction includes Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton metropolitan districts.

The authority includes Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan local council areas.

Salford City is also part of Greater Manchester Combined Authority, so people there voted in two races.

The authority includes Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar & Cleveland and Stockton-on-Tees local council areas.

The area covered includes Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire counties and the unitary council areas of Derby and Nottingham.

This jurisdiction includes the two unitary councils of North Yorkshire and York City.

The jurisdiction includes the metropolitan boroughs of Gateshead, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and Sunderland as well as the Northumberland and Durham unitary councils.

Local council areas included are Halton, Knowsley, Liverpool, St Helens, Sefton, and Wirral.

The area includes Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield boroughs.

The area comprises the metropolitan boroughs of Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield.