Which MPs are standing down before the next election? Full list mapped

A post-war record number of Tory MPs have already decided not to stand in the election.

House of Commons and Palace of Westminster next to Thames river in London.
Is your MP standing down at the next election? (Stock image: Getty)

There is just over a week left for MPs to decide whether to stand down or attempt to hold onto their seats in the upcoming general election.

Under the timetable, MPs must say if they intend to stand in the election by 7 June. Parties will know after that date exactly how many candidates they need to find for seats that are being vacated by outgoing MPs.

This election has seen a record number of Tory MPs decide not to seek re-election – with the figure standing at 77 by Wednesday morning (29 May), surpassing the previous record of 72 who quit before the 1997 election that saw a Labour landslide under Tony Blair.

Levelling up secretary Michael Gove is one of the biggest names to announce they were standing down, along with former chancellor Nadhim Zahawi and former prime minister Theresa May. Former business minister Greg Clark and veteran MP Sir John Redwood also confirmed plans to quit.

Brexiteer Dame Andrea Leadsom, a key ally of Boris Johnson, also said that she was standing down after “careful reflection”, but gave no detail about the reasons for her decision.

It is thought that Rishi Sunak's surprise election announcement has left many Tory MPs fearful of losing their jobs, with many – including Cabinet ministers – concerned by his decision.

For Labour, 30 MPs in Sir Keir Starmer’s party have so Far announced that they are leaving Parliament. They include Labour’s former deputy leader Harriet Harman, shadow defence minister Steve McCabe and veteran MP Dame Margaret Hodge.

The record for the total number of MPs standing down at an election is 149, which was set in 2010.

Here is a map showing all the MPs who have said they will not stand for re-election (correct as off 3pm on 29 May):